My Writing Process

Thanks to Elise Abram for introducing me to this blog hop. It is a new concept to me but sounds a great idea.

Elise Abram, B.A. B.Ed., M.Ed

Teacher of English and Computer Studies by day, wife and mother by night and author whenever she can steal some time, Elise is the proud author of Phase Shift, The Mummy Wore Combat Boots, and Throwaway Child, available on Amazon and KoboBooks. She pens a blog about literature, popular culture and the human condition whenever the muse moves her.

Elise’s fourth book, a young adult paranormal thriller entitled The Revenant will be released in eBook and in print on July 10, 2014 by Black Rose Writing.

Connect with Elise at http://www.eliseabram.com

 

So, back to the set of questions we have been asked to consider

What am I currently working on?

I am currently writing a novel about Emma, a young woman who receives a parcel after her grandmother’s death. It contains a hand-painted glass Christmas ornament. With no idea where it originally came from or why it was sent to her, Emma decides to take a break from her unsatisfactory and directionless life and set off to trace the origins of this gift.

In the process she travels to Venice, discovers a previously un-guessed at part of her grandmother’s history, reconnects with her sister and begins to make sense of her somewhat fraught relationship with her mother. By the end of the novel she is finally able to understand the meaning of family ties and see that the myriad of tiny connections that bind families together have a meaning beyond anything she has yet acknowledged.

How does my work differ from others of its genre?

My first four novels are loosely connected by the theme of a British woman who, through circumstances or by choice, moves abroad. I have sent these women to countries in which I have lived for some number of years. I hope that the flavour of the different countries and cultures comes over strongly and adds something to the novels. You gain something by living in a place that can never be experiences simply by holidaying there.

The novels are light women’s fiction. The first of them The Cnnamon Snail, is set in Copenhagen, where I currently live.

http://amzn.to/UXJUJp

http://amzn.to/1iUiadT

It was reviewed by The Copenhagen Post http://bit.ly/1puSPwJ

Why do I write what I do?

I write for pure enjoyment. I wrote my first novel, When Winter Comes, out this autumn,as a semi-autobiographical novel, as so many authors do. It seems that we may all have to get our own story out of the way before we can write other people’s stories. But after that I began to write for fun. I write when an idea pops into my mind. Sometimes I expand it into an entire novel, sometimes a children’s book and sometimes just a short story. If I didn’t enjoy writing, I wouldn’t do it. I love to create new worlds and characters and get a glimpse into other people’s stories through my own imagination. The characters can be become so real that I dream about them and even think about searching for them on facebook!

How does your writing process work?

I write every day. I am very disciplined about sitting down at the same time in the same place and writing something. I usually start with emails, to warm up my writing brain, then move onto my blog and any small pieces I might be working on. After about an hour, my creative brain kicks in and I can get on with writing my novels. I aim for 2000 words a day. I often fall short but on a good day can write up to 5000. The consistency of approach is what helps me and most days I will get at least half a chapter written.

Thank you if you have managed to read this far. I’d love to hear your thoughts and comments. Don’t forget to take a look at the next authors on the blog hop. So far I have Kay Camden and Laura Berg. Their profiles are below. They will be blogging sometime in the next couple of weeks.

Kay Camden is the author of THE ALIGNMENT and is currently working on its sequel, THE TWO, which will be released at the end of the summer. She lives with her husband, two children, and three cats in the middle of the U.S.A. next to a big river. She’s always on the lookout for a good love story. Other interests include learning the Irish language and listening to a lot of EBM/industrial/synthpop electronica and dark/progressive/hardcore metal the only way those types of music are meant to be played: LOUD. Learn more about Kay and her books atkaycamden.com

Laura is a German currently living in Denmark. A risk professional by day, she enjoys writing and working on her blog as an outlet for her creativity. After graduating from university with a Masters degree in business, she worked in financial consulting across Europe, which led to many hours spent on planes and in airports. She recently decided to slow down and take a day job in Denmark, working for a large investment bank. She lives with her boyfriend in Copenhagen and is continuously trying to persuade him to get a dog.

Laura has always been keen on expressing herself, and she has written a blog before to chronicle her experiences in two semesters spent abroad in Paris and New Orleans. After moving to Copenhagen, she decided to start another blog about life as an expat in Denmark. She also freelances on the side, mostly about travelling or expat topics.

 

http://thecopenhagentales.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

